I2C with ADS1115 | Arduino Compatible Compiler for LabVIEW Discussions | Forum

Please consider registering
sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register
Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
I2C with ADS1115
May 4, 2020
7:52 am
rpscd
Members
Forum Posts: 7
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

This is my first time using I2C. I am trying to read from an ADS1115 using this board

The datasheet for for the ADS1115 can be found here: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symli.....8379250984

The DS1307 Realtime Clock example helped quite a bit but I have still not successfully read voltages from my ADS1115.

Page 35 of the ADS1115 datasheet shows a quickstart guide. I followed the steps but don't get what I expect. What I see when opening the Serial Monitor is

Bytes Available: 2
Data: 33540

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

May 4, 2020
5:33 pm
Steffan
Admin
Forum Posts: 408

It looks like in your config register setting you are selecting a differential conversion across channel AIN0 and AIN1.  The conversion result is signed so you could definitely get a negative value depending on your hardware setup, 33540 is signed -31996.  Do you intent to do a single ended conversion?  You didn't post any schematic but, if so, you need to change the channel in bits 14:12 to 0x04-0x07 for single ended.

channel.pngImage Enlarger

sp_PlupAttachments Attachments
May 5, 2020
12:46 am
rpscd
Members